top of page
Search

DINO STYLE

Updated: Feb 17




What was your introduction to sticker art, and what inspired you to start creating art stickers?


My introduction to sticker art came through observation of my surroundings, seeing lamp posts and electrical boxes covered with tiny works of art.  My interest led me to books like “Going Postal” and “Project 228”, which were heavy on the imagery but didn’t go into much depth about any type of “sticker community”.  So it wasn’t until I got on Instagram and started posting my own art that I received a formal introduction to sticker art.  When other artists found out I was a public school teacher who incorporates graffiti and sticker art into my classroom, they all wanted to send stuff for me to share with my students.  That led to trades which in turn inspired me to start drawing on 228 labels.  My first attempts were sincere but embarrassingly simple.   I wasn’t really focused on stickers and figured I could use them as a way to get the word out about my book DINO STYLE, which teaches kids about dinosaurs with graffiti styled art and terminology.  Since those initial slaps, my work with stickers has become an artistic endeavor in and of itself.  I would be willing to say more people on Instagram know me for my goofy little Dino character than they know me for my book.


Who are your main sources of inspiration or influences in the world of sticker art? have you collaborated with other sticker artists?


Honestly, my biggest influences are my 6 year old daughter and her friends, as well as the middle school kids I teach.  Spending so much time working with kids inspires me to create stickers that exude positivity and compassion.  I love how excited kids get when they see me working on a sticker, this excitement motivated me to start introducing my students to 228s, giving them opportunities to design their own, and to decorate blank characters provided to me by @deez77_art and @dio.thadog

I’ve collaborated with many artists.  I would say that @dio.thadog has probably been on at least 3/4 of the labs I’ve added to.  I’ve also done several with @deez_77art, @zyngraffiti, @cvfrye, @cwi_fb, @alystabz and @nomaprequired.  I have also done printed collaborations with @monsterdan74 and @she.posse  


Can you share your creative process when making stickers? How do you choose themes, colors, and materials?


I don’t know if I ever go into stickers with a set plan.  I like to start drawing and see where it takes me.  90% of the stickers I draw are my three toothed smiling Dino, because he’s fun to draw.  I go back and forth between Poscas and whatever alcohol markers I have on hand.  


Sticker art is often associated with a kind of “street art.” How do you see your work in relation to the urban environment and graffiti culture? What sticker artists do you admire or are important to you?


As I’ve already mentioned, the majority of my work is geared toward kids, whether it’s sharing positivity and hope, or using the visual power and concise messages of graffiti and stickers to teach them. Graffiti is the one art form that was 100% created by kids and stickers are something we all gravitate toward from a very young age.   It’s my hope that I can show kids that the art they see everywhere they go can be a beautiful and powerful way to communicate ideas.  

 There are way too many sticker artists out there that I admire, but one that I admire most is actually a former student of mine who has started working with 228s.  This kid has unbelievable talent and if they stick with it, they are going to be extremely influential and on many artists’ “favorites” list. 


How do you promote or share your art stickers with the public? Do you participate in exhibitions, events, or public installations?


So I already mentioned I wrote and illustrated a book DINO STYLE, which came out in June



2023.  The whole idea of the book is to teach dinosaurs using colorfully written graffiti names that emphasize their key features.  Anyway, in promoting this book I have done public signings and readings where I give out stickers.  Every person who buys a book from me gets a sticker pack - so quite a few grandparents buying the book for their grandkids ended up giving their grandkids some 228 art!  I think that’s awesome.


I’ve spotted kids in my town with my 228s on their laptops or even their bikes - how cool is that? I’ve also come across some cool opportunities to share my stuff with a broader audience.  Two recent opportunities that come to mind are the Priority Mag coloring book, which I contributed a page to, as well as a digital sticker smash “billboard” coordinated by @digislaps in the lead up to the world premiere of @stickermovie in Portland.


bottom of page