top of page
Search

@CVFRYE : Chris Frye's Creative Journey and Global Connections.

Updated: Nov 1, 2023


cvfrye's character
@cvfrye

@cvfrye is the handle for Chris Frye, pop artist, sticker maker, and public art educator based in the
Kansas City metropolitan. Frye is a formally trained artist, having attended Johnson County Community College, where he honed his skills in drawing and painting. He went on to earn his BFA in Painting from the University of Kansas in 1998 and his MA in Education from Avila University in 2005. Frye's training and experience have equipped him with a versatile set of skills and techniques that he applies to his art and teaching. His artwork has gained recognition for its vibrant colors, playful characters, and pop culture references, while his teaching style emphasizes the importance of creativity and self-expression.
He has shown his work in numerous galleries, coffee shops and businesses locally around Kansas City.  His stickers have traveled around the world through the mail and have been spotted in the streets internationally.  He has also been a public school art teacher his entire career, first at a high school in south KCMO and presently as the Art Teacher in a middle school in Gardner, KS.  Over his career as an educator, Frye has instructed thousands of students about the creative process through engaging art activities.


Your art is often scattered worldwide through stickers. Could you share some of your travel experiences related to distributing your stickers and tell us how your city, Kansas City, has influenced your art?


I like writing FRYE on stickers in different fonts.  Participating in collabs with other artists has challenged me to imitate and match the color schemes and styles of other artists.  My Copycat

character is a rude boy alley cat.  I was inspired to create my

own character after seeing so many other cool characters in the sticker community.  I also create bootleg hand drawn label 228s of some of my favorite logos and characters.  Often these designs evoke a sense of nostalgia from viewers.  Many of the designs I’ve ripped off were ones I thought were cool in the past and I have recreated them as a sticker with markers and crayons.


As an artist from a suburb of Kansas City, my work is a reflection of my  surroundings, subcultures, and experiences.  I choose to create images that reflect my interest in pop culture including skateboarding, Saturday morning cartoons, vintage mascots and bumper stickers. Whether through stickers or gallery exhibitions, I am committed to using my art as a means of connecting with my community.


I like the idea of creating small, portable pieces that can be easily disseminated throughout the world via the postal service. This allows me to reach a wider audience and have my stickers slapped up internationally.


 

How long have you been active in the field of sticker art, and how have you seen this art form evolve over the years?

I have always had an interest in street art and experimented with bringing those techniques into my studio, but I made a decisive return to drawing on stickers around the summer of 2017.  I initially wanted to create more merch for my booth and less expensive stuff to sell at openings.  But once the pandemic hit in 2020 and galleries were closed, I began trading with other artists all around the world.



My work draws heavily on the pop art tradition, with bright colors, bold lines, and a playful sense of humor. I am drawn to the use of popular imagery and consumer culture in my art.




I stumbled into sticker making again around the time of the pandemic.  I had used street art techniques such as stenciling, wheat paste and stickers in my work previously, but like many, I was searching for connection during 2020.  I found the sticker community and artists on Instagram willing to trade packs and collaborate on hand drawn label 228s to be very inspiring to my art practice.


You have a background in education and have taught in various schools. What is the relationship between education and art in your view?

As an educator, I have stayed connected to youth culture.  I am also allowed the freedom to experiment and try out new and exciting projects and lessons that I find or create.  My personal interests often overlap when I introduce concepts to my students.



Some argue that American schools should place more emphasis on art and creativity. What is your opinion on this topic?


In my classroom, I foster children’s creativity by introducing concepts that are exciting and interactive.  My goal is to allow students express their individual creativity while become better visual communicators.



How do the parents of your students react to the activity of sticker bombing? Do they have any particular opinions about it?


Kids think stickers are cool.  They’re fun to make, collect and trade.  Most put them on their water bottles or binders.  Sticker bombing is more prevalent downtown in Art Alley or around Kansas City’s Crossroads Arts district.



Have you had the opportunity to collaborate with other artists throughout your career?
Can you share some of your collaboration experiences and tell us with which artist you have enjoyed working the most?


I value the power of collaboration with fellow artists. I have worked on various projects with other creators, including murals and installations, which showcase my willingness to explore new creative avenues and to learn from others' perspectives. This spirit of collaboration and openness is reflected in my vibrant, playful artwork, which often

features nods to popular culture and shared experiences. In this way, my art serves as a bridge between individuals and communities, fostering a sense of connection and community that goes beyond geographic boundaries.


 

Can you tell us about the film "Stickermovie" and how you see the impact that this type of representation has on sticker art and the sticker artist community?


Unfortunately, I did not hop on the Stickermovie opportunity early on when it was in its infancy.  I have learned you can’t say yes to every project.  I’m excited to see it completed though and congrats to all the participants and producers.  It’s cool seeing the sticker community getting some positive praise.



What are your future projects in the field of sticker art? Is there something exciting you are planning to create?



I have been brainstorming different ways I can continue to promote sticker culture and show off my growing collection.  I have dreamed of creating Kansas City’s first international sticker show and swap.  Via Instagram I have seen many promoters curate sticker shows and I am inspired to try it in my own part of the world.


Through traveling art packs, I continue to expand and play with the method of sending and receiving artwork through the mail.  These packs contain artist trading cards, postcards, stickers and other small artworks that will travel around to 4 or 5 artists before returning back to me.  I am excited to see what they will contain when returned!


I have also recently been making a series of small format folded paper zines.  I have always had an interest in zines as a way to produce small batch self-published DIY content.


Lastly, how do you see the role of your art in creating connections between individuals and communities, transcending geographic barriers? How do you contribute to promoting a sense of connection and community through your work?


It has been great to connect with other artists all over the world through Instagram and then exchange packs of stickers and art through the mail.  I try to keep up with collabs,  making my add and documenting it with a pic, tagging all participating artists when I can, and passing them on to be added to by another artist I know will keep it going.  Always sign your work and keep the lab alive!



Looking to the future, Chris has exciting plans to further promote sticker culture and expand his art. He envisions creating Kansas City's first international sticker show and swap, providing a platform for artists to showcase their work and share their creativity. His innovative approach to art packs and folded paper zines will continue to facilitate the exchange of art and ideas across borders, fostering a sense of community among artists.

instagram: @cvfrye

EYEZ collaboration: https://eyezbrand.com/products/chris-frye-cvfrye-cat-eyez-c-llab-rate-painting



Commentaires

Noté 0 étoile sur 5.
Pas encore de note

Ajouter une note
bottom of page